Accessibility Adalo

To whom it may concern,

I would like to start by thanking the team at Adalo for allowing me to create an app in a no-code format. While I have experience with website design and development, the no-code approach allows me to design by seeing and not by feature set. As someone with a disability, this has allowed me to use a skillset I did not know I had.

I work as an advocate at Southern California Resource Services for Independent Living (SCRS-IL) which is a cross-disability, non-residential, disability rights organization empowering people with any disability to live full and independent lives by committing to building an inclusive community that recognizes dignity, humanity, and worth of all people.

The philosophy of independent living is the belief that each person with a disability is unique and has the same civil rights as people who do not have a disability. Centers for Independent Living were created to be run by and for people with disabilities, and offer support, advocacy, and information on empowerment in the attainment of independence from a peer viewpoint, a perspective that was hitherto excluded from participation in the discussion and execution of “services for the disabled.”

One of my roles within our organization is to advocate for the inclusion, education, and use of technology within the disability community, it is my hope that Adalo’s platform will allow us to take another step towards this goal and bring more technology access to all.

In my experience I believe the best practice in working towards this is to involve those with disabilities to insure features that are needed for users with disabilities are not an afterthought during the app designing platform improvement process.