Problems with an external API

I made a c # API that inserts and updates data in SQL server. I have tested this API with Postman and it works. I introduced this API in a custom action in ADALO and it works with the sample data. When I call the custom action from the click of a button, the API does not work giving a 500 internal server error, even if using the same example data that worked previously. I cannot understand what this could depend on.
I thank in advance who will help me.

Hi @emanuele1964 ,
Welcome to Adalo. Could you provide some screenshots of the configurations in the custom action and does it give you only 500 error or any other details?

Hello, I’m new to Adalo and having a problem with displaying images from an API. As a test, I chose a public api from a site called dog.ceo, but when I manage to create a api collection in Adalo I’m not able to retrieve the image from it. I’ve attached an image of endpoints from the website in the hopes that someone can help with this. Thanks in advance.

Hi @DLF, that is because the response is a single object, not an array. The COllections always need to run a GET request as an Array to validate the API endpoint, unfortunately it is a restriction of how Adalo is setup.

{
“message”: “https://images.dog.ceo/breeds/puggle/IMG_084828.jpg”,
“status”: “success”
}

You will be able to use as a custom action though.

3 Likes

Hi @DLF,

Welcome to the community :partying_face:

You need a custom action for this because the JSON response returns one result and it’s not a array! Just saw @JL_LJ reply! What he said :point_up:

Made a video! : Radnom Dog Image.mp4 - Google Drive

Thank you

3 Likes

Thank you for helping to understand what the problem is, also being new to APIs made me feel completely lost on this.

1 Like

This has been a great help! Thank you so much. :+1:

3 Likes