System generated push notification

Hi everyone, Adalo newbie here with no programming background.

I have a list of notifications that I’d like to be able to push out to users at random intervals - basically it’s a reminder app.

The flow

1. Randomly select a number between 1-30 (eg 12)
  2. Use that number to signal how many days to wait since the last notification
  3. When it reaches 12 days the app then sends a push notification to the user
  4. The push notification is to be selected at random from the database

My questions

1. My understanding is that Adalo can’t do randomisation, although I found a semi-workaround here - is there anyway I can do it using a 3rd party such as Airtable or Zapier? I’ve done a search of the forums and not come up with anything other than this and I’m not sure it would work (and would require some code.)

2. How do I use the number generated (eg 12) to then push a notification to the user after that number of days?

It may be that none of the above is currently possible in Adalo. I think I can work around point 1 for the time being unitl Adalo introduce randomisation (I saw it’s on the roadmap); but point 2 is pretty important.

Many thanks!

1 Like

Hey there!

At the moment there is no way of sending out scheduled notifications, they need to be triggered by a action… This is something coming in not a long time I belive :slight_smile:

1 Like

Great, thanks for confirming for me @alexid95, and so fast too!

1 Like

This has a lot of support in the feature requests here: Scheduled Push Notifications | Voters | Adalo

But is not currently ‘planned’ - do vote if you think it would be useful!

1 Like

@dosandco thank you, I’ve added my vote there :slight_smile:

@nugn I was thinking about your situation in light of a video @pford just shared here and I may have an idea for you on how you could potentially accomplish this now. It would be hackish but it might work.