Choosing "Web App" or "Mobile App" to publish PWA

Hello!

I am EXTREMELY new to this and am building a link a sharing app similar to LinkTree, but tailored to a specific use. I started by building the app as a “Desktop Web App”, but then rebuilt the app (using the same Database) but selected “Native Mobile App” because it has the option to be published asa PWA. After considering my options and the headaches of the app stores, and based on the functionality I want to offer, I think as long as it can be opened on a mobile browser, a web app will be all I need, and won’t be looking to publish to any app stores.

So my question is, what is the difference between selecting mobile app at the start and publishing as a PWA, compared to selecting web app from the start? Does one offer a better mobile experience than the other? Do I need both? I don’t want to keep working on one just to find out I should’ve been doing the other.

Thanks in advance for the help!

If you build your app as a mobile app, and it is viewed on any PC browser its in the view of an emulated phone.

However, if you start it as a web app and view it in a mobile browser it doesn’t always scale right either.

Your best bet, if feasible is to have both.

Awesome, that definitely answers my question. I think I will continue to build on the Desktop Web app for now, and look at building out the mobile PWA once I have an MVP running as I’d like. I definitely don’t want the web version running on an emulated phone screen.

1 Like

I would suggest experimenting a bit first. In my case, I’m building a mobile app (still in progress), but I also want a web version for my many customers who would likely interact with us on a desktop computer (mostly older users).

If I were you, I’d build a couple of mockup screens as mobile app first. Doesn’t even matter what you have on them. Just a rough idea of what your mobile screen might look like.