Update multiple database records on button action (that meet criteria)

Hi everyone - has anyone been able to find a way to update multiple records in a database based on a specific criteria? Or possibly a creative workaround?

Essentially, a button action would go through a database and check if a certain field = X. If yes, a second field in all of those records would be updated. Thanks in advance!

@sadalo this is not possible within Adalo. You’ll need to use a tool like integromat.

You can do it in 2 ways:

1. Initiate a trigger from Integromat at regular intervals to get the data from Adalo’s collections and perform the update action back to Adalo based on the criteria
  2. If the action is triggered by a user in Adalo, send a webhook to integromat to trigger the action. This will eliminate the need for integromat to perform the action automatically and saves costs

@bhanu Thanks so much - that sounds very promising! Will look into it right now.

I’m new to tools like Zapier/Integromat. Is it safe to assume that I would need a middleman integration here with something like Excel or Airtable where my Adalo collections are being uploaded first? Then use Integromat to edit multiple fields in Airtable based on the specific criteria I’m looking for…

Thanks so much again in advance!

@sadalo you don’t need another tool between integromat and Adalo. You can call Adalo’s API to get the data and post back after performing the updates.

3 Likes

Hey @bhanu, thanks so much again for all your help on this. I experimented a bit with Integromat scenarios, and am still a bit stuck on the multiple-record-update. I got as far as creating a webook to pass back and forth one record from an Adalo collection… but can’t seem to pull an entire collection to make bulk changes.

Do you happen to have some tips on what I may be missing, or a quick screenshot of the Integromat setup if you’ve been able to achieve this before? THANK YOU AGAIN!!

@sadalo