Bible App anyone?

Just checking in to see if anyone knows how to connect a bible app to a bible software where they can read it from their phone… anyone? I checked but didn’t find anyone that posted about that yet.

There are actually numerous Bible API’s out there available for free that you can connect your Adalo app with:
https://scripture.api.bible/
https://bible-api.com/

2 Likes

Thank you so much! Very cool.

How can I get this onto my app? I’m new to APIs…

@BeautifullySimple

1. You would need a paid plan
  2. To use custom actions, when you use click actions, click on the custom action tab (under notifications) then make a name for the custom action then add the API base url and so on…

If you need more help with the API, please create a new topic for it.

I wanted to check with you on this… I really appreciate the help, but I’m really having a hard time figuring out how to connect APIs like this. I watched your YouTube tutorials and feel like I have a basic understanding, but I’m not exactly sure how this works with the components of the app. Like how do you have a piece of data connect with a specific component? If there’s some kind of resource that you can point me to for this, I would really appreciate that.

Great question. Each API is a bit different, but when using External Collections, they generally return lists (or arrays) of information. In this case, when you create an External Collection using these APIs it returns either a single verse or multiple verses. When you have multiple verses returned, you can use a List in Adalo to display those results. Let me try and work up an example app for you.

1 Like