Countdown from "created date" in collection?

Hi, I’m new to adalo and trying to do a countdown from a specific date. What i would like to do is:

1. user uploads an image
  2. I will do some processing of the image in the background
  3. I want to display to the user that his image will be available in 7 days from the day it was uploaded.

I’m using a horizontal card list and want to show “Image available in Xdays, Y hours, Z seconds” as the Title in my bottom bar text. How do i go about displaying “7 days from now minus current date/time”? This seems like it should be fairly easy to accomplish, but I haven’t seemed to be able to get it to work. I tried custom formulas and I got a really odd -2.983767311 type of integer. I tried changing the display and i got a date from 1969. Any thoughts on how to make this work?

Hello, well basically it can be done by creating a new date property in the Users collection. Call this new property “End date”. And set this date to be when the image expiration day ends. Then when “End date” is equal to “Current time” => the image won’t be displayed.

Hi @dgarnett,

Welcome to the community :muscle:

Correct? :eyes:

Clonable Link

Thank you

Thanks Dilon, this got me part of the way there, but things are still not working as intuitively as I would have expected. In this example that you coded up, the Days, hours and seconds that count down are all the same value. eg, 5 days = 120 hours = 466xxx seconds. What I need is for the display to show: 5 days, 22 hours and 15 minutes (as an example).

So let’s say i create an image on Jan 1. It needs to be available on Jan 8 (7 days later). 1 minute after image upload i want the user to see: Available in 6 days, 23 hours and 59 minutes. 2 days, 1 hour and 13 minutes after image is created, i need the user to see: Available in 4 days, 22 hours and 47 minutes. etc.

Thanks again for the help.

@dgarnett , you mean you want to show minutes instead of seconds? Maybe a full one example?