How? Eliminating gaps in sequential numbering between records

Hi there, sorry if this is an obvious question; I’m still very new to Adalo and I wasn’t able to find something similar in the forums already.

Let’s say I want to have a number of records in the same table each have a different sequential number but I want the gap to close when one of those records gets deleted, how would I go about doing that? For instance…

If I wanted to create a waitlist that draws from a “Users” collection with a “Position” property. I’d use {max position+1} to set each new user’s position:

User, position
A, 1
B, 2
C, 3
D, 4
E, 5
F, 6
G, 7

Now say user C drops off the list and that row is deleted (or otherwise filtered out, depending on what will work best here), I would like to be able to run an operation that would be able to identify the gap and cause the record for D to update to 3; E to become 4; F → 5, and G → 6. After that, if a new record gets added, let’s say user H, their position would be 7 (which is now the new {max+1}.

Is there a user-end-friendly way to do this without using an external service?

Thanks so much for any help on this. I know it’s niche but I’ve already seen so many clever workarounds in the forum that I’m crossing my finders someone has one for this too!

Hi Mary,

It would be good to know the scenario in which this would be used and then we could work out the best way to address it.

Thanks
Craig

Hi Craig, Thanks for jumping in! Let’s use a scenario of a waitlist with different people on it who are given a unique ordinal ranking that gets entered into their record (rather than just appearing on a bulleted list that gets updated live).

So let’s say we have:

Smith, 1
Devi, 2
Garcia, 3
Li, 4
Jones, 5
Singh, 6
Brown, 7
Tremblay, 8