Using data from one database as a multi-select dropdown on a form based on a different database?

I’m brand new to using Adalo and learning more every moment, but I’ve come across a problem I haven’t been able to easily solve, I hope someone can help me. And please be gentle, I am a total noob.

I’m creating a Employee Performance Management app, to simplify the process for employers.

So, I have a collection called Activities and a collection called Competencies.

To achieve a Competency, the user needs to complete a number of Activities.

Activities can apply to multiple Competencies, so this is a many-to-many relationship.

What I want to do is this:

Create a new Competency and select only the relevant Activities from a list of all Activities to connect to the new Competency.

It is something that is easily done from within the database, but I can’t work out how to build the fields on a form that will do the same thing.

If it’s of interest, I have downloaded the Multi-Select Dropdown component, would this be of use in this situation?

I would love a step-by-step of how I might create the competency/activities form.

Thanks in advance!

Newbie Bree.

Hello Bree and welcome to Adalo :slight_smile:

The multi-select dropdonw component would indeed be useful in your case.
But for your form to work you would need the activities to be created already in order to be able to display them in your dropdown list.

I see two ways to do so:

• Activities are already created and listed in a collection, which you can link to your multiselect dropdown so when your users create a new competency they just have to select the different activities they want to link to that competency.