Using Lists to Link to Screens within app

Sorry guys, I have looked all over this forum for this answer, but nothing quite answers it. Maybe I missed it… I’m new to the Adalo software.

Anyways, can anyone explain how you use a list to link to screens within the app. I have a small book and my list is the “chapters” of the book. I want each chapter that’s listed to link to its appropriate page (screen) on the app. That’s it.

The problem is that my database/collection allows me to create a text component but not a link component—I can to an external site, but it does not give an option to link to an internal screen, and I don’t think that “relationships” will help with this as each chapter is specific to it’s page.

Any thoughts?

Hey there @JTMartinson Welcome to the community :sunglasses:

Start with the database:
You have a collection of books, chapters, and pages.
Books has a one-to-many relationship with chapters (Book can have many chapters, chapters belong to 1 book)
Chapters has a one-to-many relationship with pages (Chapters can have many pages, pages belong to 1 chapter)

Then the screens:
Screen 1, list of books. When clicked, link to screen 2 which contains a list of Current Book > Chapters.
Screen 2’s list of chapters when clicked, link to screen 3 with a list of Current Chapter > Pages.
Screen 3’s list of pages can link to screen 4 with individual pages.

There is no such thing as a “link component”, you just add an action to any component by clicking on a component and scrolling to the “Click Actions” on the left sidebar. You can add a link/action to just about any component.

1 Like