Directory and user access

Hello,

I am new to Adalo.
I want to create a directory and I would like each person registered in the directory to be able to modify some of their data and in particular their description. I can have between 200 and 2000 referenced people and it would therefore be necessary for the referenced people to have access to modify their description but not the description of other people.
Is it possible and do you have the solution?

Thanks in advance

Hi @Juano,

Welcome to the community :partying_face:

You can have a One to Many relationship in that collection to store the creator and then you can show/hide the edit button based on that property. Like Current Directory > creator’s ( one to many rel ) > email > is equal to > Logged in user’s > email. Or you can add the same condition to the Link action that goes to the edit screen to make that link conditional.

Like if you see here this is for comments. Only the creator can edit it! : Building a simple comments section - #2 by dilon_perera

If you still can’t figure out show your database and current setup and we will help you!

Thank you

hi dilon,

thank you very much for your quick response!
I will test it and get back to you if needed!

1 Like

Hello Dilon,

I have related my list to my collection 1 and I would like that when I click on an element of this same list, elements of my collection 2 are displayed (according to the element that I have chosen in the collection 1)

Is there an alternative to creating a new page for each item in a list and then linking to that page? Or can the details show directly
(like on glide)
Thanks!!!

Hi Juano,

Ok so first you need to relate the collection 1 and collection 2 with a relationship property. The relationship from three options depends on what you need to do. But I’m guessing that you are trying to do like collection 2 can have many records of collection 1 and collection 1 can only have one record of collection 2.