How to dynamically generate a list that is customized to each user / pull data from a master collection

So here’s my current issue in a nutshell: I’m a coach and I’ve created a manual database with a whole bunch of drills for the athletes I train. However, only some drills are for each athlete (depending on what they need to improve on). I’ve tried using the manual data widget to bring data into the new screen but that seems to not work (the available data section when I click on a screen). Here is my process as it stands:

On my end:

1. Select which drills I want each of my clients to do
  2. I’ll use an action button when I press submit to add these drills to a new spreadsheet (Description of drill, form, how the drill should be performed, that sort of stuff) to a new list that is tied to each client.

On the student’s end:

1. I’ll have my list component for them to look at
  2. The component will show the items that were just generated for their custom list

I guess my question is one of efficiency. This seems like a terrible waste of space and data. There has to be some sort of way to just mark off which drills each student should have populated into their list from a reference spreadsheet without having to generate many rows of data every time for every one of my clients on a repetitive basis.

Would anyone have insight into how to make this process more efficient? I haven’t found a way to do so yet. Thanks!

Hi Kevin,

Just checking in if you solved this already or not? Otherwise happy to provide some steps to get you on your way with this app.

Hey Colin!